Just Another (International Women’s) Day

Can you celebrate a special occasion by merely going about on your daily routine?
Since I am poor and live far too far away from even the closest feminist, not to mention feminist organization, I was left with no choice but to do “nothing” for International Women’s Day. Or at least that’s what I thought, until the day was over and I paused to consider what I’d done. In the morning I went to the bank and opened a savings account. There was a time when a woman couldn’t have her own account in this country, and it’s still the case in many parts of the world. I then went to work, the daily drudgery I put up with in order to support myself. Again, there was a time when such a thing would have been unthinkable for a single young woman. But the best part of the day came at night. I went out with some friends and we ended up, somehow, in the supermarket. I asked my (girl)friend if I could drive her car around the parking lot. To my surprise, she handed me over the keys. And guess what! I drove a car! That’s right! I started it and I moved it around! It might not seem much to most people, who have probably been driving for as long as they can remember, but it certainly was a big deal for me. The last time I was behind a wheel was 2005. And I am known for not being able to start a car successfully, much less on the first go. So YAY for me! Once more, this is a luxury that we take for granted, but in many parts of the world women are not allowed to drive.

Happy (Belated) International Women’s Day to all!
(Especially to those of you isolated from fellow feminists)

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    berryblade said,

    Oh awesome! I can’t even drive, so that seems pretty fucking awesome to me. I did what I do best (amongst other things) – get drunk. As far as I know, womyn in Australia weren’t allowed to drink alcohol at all, let alone in bars and pubs until the 60’s/70’s. Eh.

  2. 2

    marytracy9 said,

    YAY for celebrating by doing what we do everyday 😀

  3. 3

    Level Best said,

    Your “YAY” is seconded. You’re awesome, marytracy9.

  4. 4

    marytracy9 said,

    Awww! Thanks so much, Level Best!

  5. 5

    Mary Sunshine said,

    Hey, Mary Tracy. Great to see you blogging again.

    And yes! to those things that we get to do every day. Even if we still feel shaky about them, or discouraged about them. Or take them for granted.

    Memories, memories ….. and yet, so many potentials as yet unfulfilled.

  6. 6

    marytracy9 said,

    Hi Mary Sunshine! Nice to see you again!

    I am, indeed, still alive. Though I can’t say the same thing about the feminist blogosphere.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

