Y El Aborto Para Cuando

(the title of this post is in Spanish, and means, roughly, “When abortion?”) (yes, the original is not proper grammar either)

Buenos Aires, the capital city of Argentina, has just legalized same sex marriage.

Abortion continues to be illegal throughout the country. And the whole of latin america.

Something here is very wrong.

When the news programme reported that the courts were considering to do this, my Dad said: “Va a haber matrimonio gay antes de haber aborto”. Which means, “Is there going to be gay marriage before abortion?”. Yes, my Dad is the best.

My own reaction upon hearing that the courts had done this was more succint: “F*UCK”.

I repeat, something here is very wrong. I blame identity politics.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Eneya said,

    I still think that it is a step in the right direction.
    Look what is happening into the States.

  2. 2

    Eneya said,

    Sorry for the double posting, I hit the enter.
    As I was saying:

    Change is not going to happen over night.
    And acceptance of same sex marriages will make more people change their social roles expectations change.
    And may be, understanding the idea that women should have the right to control their bodies.

    Or I am being optimistic here?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

