OMG, An Open Thread!

I wanted to blog this weekend, but I’ve got a cold. Again.

So it ocurred to me that we could have an Open Thread of some sort. Is there anything you want to ask me? Anything in particular you wish to discuss? Feel free to babble utter nonsense and have a laugh. (lolcat language highly encouraged)

Oh, and don’t worry about my cold, (or my life).

fine-copy

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gayle said,

    Hope you feel better soon!

    I’ll try to get things going: President-elect Obama doesn’t want one of those “girly dogs” , even if it is for his two girls. Discuss!

  2. 2

    marytracy9 said,

    Thank you, Gayle

    I’ve never done an open thread, so I’m not sure what to say :S
    I have resisted blogging about the American presidential elections because I didn’t want to create controversy over a topic I don’t care much about. But commenting is a different matter :D. I don’t like Obama, and I don’t think he’ll change anything. He’s openly sexist and borderline misogynist. And this attitude against supposedly “girly dogs” just proves it.

  3. 3

    Gayle said,

    I completely respect your desire not to comment on the election. Since the election is (finally!) over I think it’s okay to call out a stupid, sexist comment by a very public person. He wasn’t my candidate, but I’d think even feminists who do like him would see a problem here.

    I don’t want another generation of boys and girls growing up to think “girly” things are lesser and inferior. That goes for movies, books, everything really, including doggies. Actually I’d rather nothing was compartmentalized as girly or . . . what’s the boy equivalent of girly? Is there one?

  4. 4

    marytracy9 said,

    Oh, I’m quite happy to comment on the election, but maybe not “blog” about it, so that this blog isn’t hijacked by the people who think “Obama is the Savior of all the problems in the world”.

    And really, the stupidity of the claim that some dogs are “girly” is so blatant. I mean, all dog races have male and female members. And both genders look exactly the same to us. How exactly can you have a “girly” dog?
    It may seem like a bit of a stretch, but I think describing dogs as “girly” shows a strong current of sexism running beneath Obama’s surface.
    Or maybe I am being too dog sensitive 😛

  5. 5

    theladyisequal said,

    Wait. Obama said that about dogs? What?! My uncle was 6’2″ and had a miniature schnauzer. He didn’t think she was a “girly dog”!!!! And she was the boss of everyone! She bossed our Rottweiler around!!

    I just posted in my blog my upset about how Conan O’Brien called a child in a costume a “girl” but if it were a boy, he “didn’t want to insult him.” Soooo many wrong things about that.

  6. 6

    marytracy9 said,

    Oh, yeah, the old “I didn’t want to offend you by comparing you to one of those pesky females”.

    *eyeroll*

  7. 7

    Yep, the whole world hates women and femaleness of any sort. Unless its for sex sex sex, but then I think they might secretly hate us for that too.

  8. 8

    Level Best said,

    atheist woman, I think that instead of secret hate, it’s more like pretty open and extreme resentment that men feel due to the fact that in most situations the purveyor of the sex sex sex has to be acknowledged as human in some form or fashion and thus might inconvenience them in some way (like child support, the Harpies!). Except when, of course, the men just take what they want from the girl or woman. And too much of that happens. 😦

    And I will worry about your cold and your life, sweet blogger!

  9. 9

    Polly Styrene said,

    Oh FFS, I missed the girly dogs thing. Just as well though, as I’m on the verge of postalness anyways.

  10. 10

    marytracy9 said,

    “in most situations the purveyor of the sex sex sex has to be acknowledged as human in some form or fashion”

    I think that’s it, Level Best. That right there is the biggest inconcenience: having to acknowledge the woman as human.

    (Oh, ant than you ;))

    Polly you didn’t miss much, really. Though I would suggest staying within safe distance from Obama and politics in general if you are on the verge of postalness.

  11. 11

    thebewilderness said,

    What are those white spots drifting through the background? I saw them on 9deuce’s blog as well. Is it me or is it your host playing asteroids?

  12. 12

    citywood said,

    It’s snow, theb! Lol, anyone w/ a wordpress blog can activate it. And hi MT.

  13. 13

    marytracy9 said,

    Hi thebewilderness and citywood! ‘Course it’s snow! I love snow. And if I’m not going to get any in real life, then by gum I’m gonna have some in the intertoobs.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

