I Was Raped T-Shirt – Bolder Version

I’m sure most of you are already familiar with the “I Was Raped” T-Shirt designed by feminist writer Jennifer Baumgardener.

My first reaction when I saw it was “if it helps survivors, bring it on”. But upon reading story, after story, after story of survivor’s personal experiences and their reactions to the t-shirt I felt a bolder statement needed to be made. So here it is. My louder, bolder version of the “I Was Raped” T-Shirt art.

I Was Raped T-Shirt Bolder Version

Just to make it clear once again that rape is a reality. And that we need to speak out.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Debs said,

    I see what you’re saying, but I think ‘I was raped’, just as a simple statement works so well. And it’s terrible but in your version, some women would need a whole list, eg ‘I was raped by my boyfriend, and my husband, and the doctor on the gynae ward.” etc etc.

    ‘I was raped’ has such simplicity, and has a certain dignity about it too, I think. It’s bold enough just to say that, no extra information is needed on the shirt.

    xx

  2. 2

    marytracy9 said,

    It’s cool, Debs, I wasn’t trying to “improve” the shirt’s desing in any way. Is just my way of saying “rape happens and it’s amongst us”. My (f)art is aimed at all those people who want to keep their eyes closed and continue to think that rape is only carried out by strangers to nuns in dark alleys in Neptune.

    Rape is real, and we cannot say it enough times or loud enough.

  3. 3

    Judy Best said,

    To validate what Debs did (hooray), when I first saw the “I was raped” T-shirt, as much as I appreciated the intention to bring attention and healing to raped women (a category to which I belong), I was bothered with the omission of the rapist from the equation.

    I’d prefer to see something like ” ______ [my husband, my boyfriend, my dad, my cousin, my neighbor, fill in the blank] raped me.” However, I’m not the one who took the initiative to make the T-shirt, so this isn’t intended as criticism … Only as another view that puts the focus on the actions of rapists in a world prone to male-invented original-sin-theologizing and karmic-babbling that perpetually blames victims instead of holding men accountable for the violence that is largely theirs against womankind.

  4. 4

    Judy Best said,

    P.S. I’m wanting to say hooray today even when I do not agree with another woman who’s posted … if that makes sense. And hooray with all who read, and who care.

  5. 5

    Mary Sunshine said,

    I’d like one that says explicitly, “I was raped by my father”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

